Pear Therapeutics

Nancy M. Schlichting

Retired CEO of Henry Ford Health System

Nancy M. Schlichting is retired Chief Executive Officer of Henry Ford Health System (HFHS), a nationally recognized $5.5 billion health care organization with 27,000 employees and recipient of the 2011 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, 2011 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety Quality Award, and 2004 Foster G. McGaw Award.  She is credited with leading the health system through a dramatic financial turnaround and for award-winning patient safety, customer service and diversity initiatives. Ms. Schlichting joined HFHS in 1998 as its Senior Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer, served as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, President and CEO of Henry Ford Hospital and was named President and CEO of the System in 2003.  Retiring in 2017, her career in health care administration spans over 35 years of experience in senior level executive positions.

She serves on several corporate and community boards including Walgreens Boots Alliance, The Kresge Foundation, Hill-Rom Holdings, Inc., Encompass Health, Duke University, Duke University Health System, and Detroit Symphony Orchestra.  Ms. Schlichting is also a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives and a member of the International Women’s Forum.

Ms. Schlichting was honored as one of the 100 Most Influential People in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare magazine eight times and was also named to the Top 25 Women in Healthcare by Modern Healthcare five times. Most recently, she received Modern Healthcare’s “Visionary IMPACT Award”. Author of the acclaimed book, Unconventional Leadership, Ms. Schlichting is a highly regarded expert and accomplished speaker on strategic leadership, quality, cultural transformation, community engagement, innovation, and diversity.

Ms. Schlichting received her A.B. in Public Policy Studies, Magna Cum Laude from Duke University and her M.B.A. from Cornell University.  She has also been the recipient of honorary doctoral degrees from Walsh College, Eastern Michigan University, Central Michigan University and Towson University.